Defining Diversity

November 6, 2012

di·ver·si·ty

/dɪˈvɜrsɪti, daɪ-/ Show Spelled[dih-vur-si-tee, dahy-] Show IPA

noun, plural di·ver·si·ties.

1.the state or fact of being diverse; difference; unlikeness.
2.variety; multiformity.
3.a point of difference.
Synonyms.
assortment, dissimilarity, distinction, distinctiveness, divergence, diverseness, diversification, heterogeneity, medley, mixed bag, multeity, multifariousness, multiformity, multiplicity, range, unlikeness, variance, variegation, variousness

Antonyms

identicalness, sameness, similarity, uniformity

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The word diversity particularly stuck out to me immediately because I felt the possibilities for this word were endless. I grabbed the word right away prepared to maim those who got in my way.

Every aspect of the line is diverse in a multitude of ways. It’s just up to me to find what speaks to me.

I relate to the word myself because I’m part of a diverse culture and I felt that I could reflect that in my work by choosing this word.

There will be no boundries for this word.

Leave a comment